City District Departments

The City District Departments are responsible for a number of operations based on a geographical area. The City of Stockholm is divided into 11 City District Departments. The geographical area is called a city district area and is divided into a number of city districts.

The City District Departments are responsible for

  • municipal preschool
  • elderly care services
  • support and services for people with disabilities
  • maintenance of parks
  • social psychiatry
  • individual and family care
  • guidance for consumers
  • leisure and cultural activities.

The elected representatives on the City District Councils decide what is to be prioritised for these municipal operations in the area. The City District Departments must then implement the councils’ decisions.